Remembering Brian Linehan: the man and his legacy


What do Republic of Doyle’s Allan Hawco, Broadway’s Paul Nolan (Jesus Christ Superstar, Once), The National Ballet of Canada’s Guillaume Côté, Remedy’s Sarah Allen and Orphan Black’s Evelyne Brochu have in common?

As they were developing their talents, they were supported by The Brian Linehan Charitable Foundation.

It’s been 10 years since Canada’s best-known celebrity interviewer Brian Linehan passed away.

The Brian Linehan Charitable Foundation was established from the proceeds of his estate to create a star system in Canada through training, work opportunities and promoting young Canadians of exceptional talent.

“We miss our friend terribly,” said Foundation director Michael A. Levine. “But we take great pride that through his generosity the Foundation has been able to encourage and support Canadian talent as they build their careers in this country and beyond.”

To date, its range of activities has included support for various programs at the National Screen Institute (NSI), Toronto International Film Festival Group (TIFFG)Stratford Shakespeare FestivalSoulpepper AcademyCanadian Film Centre, Humber College, Sheridan College, CanStage and Company Theatre.

Foundation advisory board members are Brian’s former friends and colleagues Michael A. Levine, George Anthony, Marcia Martin, Maxine Quigley and Arthur Weinthal.

In 2012, a partnership between The Brian Linehan Charitable Foundation, NSI and TIFF (home of the Toronto International Film Festival) launched, a place to rediscover some of the most popular and influential of Brian’s interviews, plus information about the Foundation.

Recently it was announced that a quarterly $1,000 Brian Linehan Actors Award will recognize lead actors in films programmed in the NSI Online Short Film Festival. The first recipient will be announced in late June.

  • Pratha Foundation

    Really Nice Interview as well as nice article.